Christopher D. James

Office of City Council
Title: Councilman - 1st Ward
Phone: 862-253-8549
Follow Us on Facebook
Councilman Christopher D. James

  • Member of Negotiation Team, Chair of Business Development & Zoning

Councilman Christopher D. James was sworn into Office as First Ward Councilman on January 1, 2014.  He was re-elected at the General Election on November 7, 2017 continuing a tradition of civic and community service he developed a passion for under the guidance of his mother, the late Maxine James. Councilman James a longtime resident of the City’s First Ward, was born in the City of Orange and raised and educated in Newark.

Councilman Christopher D. James 
for the past two decades has served in various capacities in municipal, county and state government; grassroots community organizations, and non-profit entities. He is the President of New Jersey Shares and has served as a First Ward District Leader with the East Orange Democratic Municipal County Committee; the President of the New Jersey Young Democrats; past Chair of the Young Democrats; Past Chair of the Young Democrats of America States Presidents Association; Advisory Board Member of the Housing and Neighborhood Development Services, Incorporated (HANDS) and the Essex County Vocational School Board.  Councilman James also served as the Essex County Deputy Field   Director for “Obama for America”.

Councilman Christopher D. James is President and Founder of James Strategy Group, a full-service Government Counseling Firm.  He is the former Executive Director of the New Jersey State Democratic Committee. Councilman James served as Chief of Staff for the 34th Legislative District  Assemblywoman and House Speaker Sheila Y. Oliver and from 2003 to 2008 as Chief of Staff to 28th Legislative District Assemblyman Craig A. Stanley

Councilman Christopher D. James has served as Chairman of the Public Works Committee and as a member of the Arts, Recreation & Cultural Affairs, Business Development & Zoning and Housing and Licensing Committees.  He is the current Chairman of the legislative body.




Return to Staff Directory